Time Tracking

Overview

To help you manage activity against your SLAs, Enate allows users to track the time it takes for work items to be completed, both as an overall total and broken out by the various resources who may have worked on it.

The time tracker records the time of each individual browser session that the item is worked on; time is tracked whenever a work item is open on-screen, regardless of whether it is assigned to the user or not and regardless of what state the work item is in. The time tracker runs for one single work item at a time within a browser session and will run for a work item tab when it gets browser tab focus. It continues to run even if the browser is minimized, if the computer is in lock screen etc.

In the scenario where work item A is open (with the timer running) and a further work item B tab gets opened, the timer will stop on item A and switch instead to item B. Flipping between these work item tabs would equally switch which one the time tracker is running for.

Time tracking halts when the work item tab is closed and in the event of a browser/machine timing out.

See here for more details about when time is tracked or not tracked in the Time Tracker card.

Important note: Clicking directly on an email in any of the Email View tabs will start the time tracker running for that work item and would stop time tracker running for any other work item tab it had been running on immediately prior to this.

The card displays the length of time of the current session, a combined total of the length of time of all previous sessions, and - for Actions and Tickets - the expected time required to complete the work item.

Note: You are able to pause and reset the time being recorded for the current session, regardless of whether or not you are the work item's assignee.

Additionally you can edit the time of the current and your previous recorded sessions, regardless of whether or not you are the work item's assignee. However please note that only Team Leaders are able to edit the time recorded by other members of their team, whereas Team Members are only able to edit the time recorded for their own sessions.

Viewing Previous Recorded Sessions

Expanding the Time Tracker card displays the recorded time for previous sessions, as well as who was working on the work item during that session, how long the session lasted and if the session's recorded time has been edited.

Clicking on the information icon lets you see the date and time when the session was recorded and, if the work item is a Ticket, which category it was assigned to during that session.

Editing Recorded Times

You can edit the time of the current and previous recorded sessions, regardless of whether or not you are the work item's assignee. However please note that only Team Leaders are able to edit the time recorded by other members of their team, whereas Team Members are only able to edit the time recorded for their own sessions.

Manually editing the current time-on-task will save that edited time as a new row in the history.

You will be able to see further information including when an edit was made and who by when you open the card in full-screen mode.

Note that time tracker values for work performed by robots are read-only.

Viewing Edited Times

You can click the expand icon to open the card in full-screen mode. Here you can see the length of time of the current session, a combined total of the length of time of all previous sessions, and, for Actions and Tickets, the expected time required to complete the work item. You will also be able to see more detailed information about the individual session, as well as information about edits made to the recorded time:

Expected Time

The expected time required to complete the work item can be configured in Builder for Actions and Tickets. Note that this information will only display if:

  • An Estimated Effort value has been entered for this Action / the selected Ticket Category in Builder.

  • The system-wide setting to display estimated effort is set to On.

When is time tracked / not tracked?

Time is tracked whenever a user has the work item open and displayed on-screen. Time will not be tracked when the Time Tracker Card has been paused. You can find more detailed information about whether time is tracked or not in a particular scenario from the table below.

Additional Time Tracking Information

The Enate system will always keep a record of the automatically recorded time (i.e. not manually edited). This is a record of the amount of time which the work item tab was displayed directly on screen. This data is not displayed to you but can be accessed for MI / reporting purposes. Please note that the time tracker tracks ALL accessing of the work item, even after it is completed. Manually editing the current time-on-task will save that edited time as a new row in the history. The ‘time on task’ box will subsequently display the auto-running count of the time since you started the manual edit of the previously displayed value.

Last updated