Links

Processing a Case

Initial Case Submission

Cases can be started in the following ways:
  • Via an incoming email (if the system is configured to do so for that email mailbox)
  • By a ‘Start Case’ Action within another Case flow.
  • Manually, from the ‘Create New Work Item’ link in the Work Manager toolbar
  • Automatically started
  • Via third party integrations

How Cases move through the different states

When manually starting a Case directly in Enate, it will sit in a state of 'Draft' until it has been submitted for the first time.
When starting manually, you should fill in the ‘Case Short Description’.
Once a Case has been submitted into Enate, it will then sit in a status of ‘To Do’ until a resource has picked it up - this could be a human resource or a robot resource. Once you start updating a Case sitting in this state, it will:
  • automatically assign to you and
  • the status will change to ‘In progress’
You can also choose to change the state yourself. This signifies that work is now underway and it will stay in that status until it’s resolved – assuming e.g. no waiting for further information.

Setting an Item back to 'To Do'

If you’ve picked up a Case in error, or if your reach the conclusion that it’s not a piece of work you’re going to be able to progress you can unassign it from yourself, either to another resource or just back to its Queue. This could be after 10 seconds or half an hour, but when you do this the system will automatically set the status back to ‘To Do’ to let everyone know that it’s not going to be progressed until another resource picks it up. You can also just manually set the status back to ‘To Do’ if for example you started working on it in error and need to quickly undo the status change.
Similarly if a robot resource rejects a piece of work, its status will be set back to ‘To Do’ as part of handing it over for a human resource to carry out.

Needs Attention

Additionally, if there is a problem with a Case (usually be because of an issue with one of its Actions), the Case will be put back into a state of 'To Do'.
Once the Case is in this state, the Case owner can see this along with the reason – i.e. often the problem Action in the Info Card. As Case Owner, you have various options available to you:
  • Rework the Case from a previous step or from completed Actions within this step
  • Place the Case on Wait - Pause
  • Reset the Case to In Progress
  • Manually launch / re-launch Actions

Using 'Wait' state for a Case

If you’re working on a Case and you have to temporarily halt work on it because you’re waiting for some additional information or because of some other temporary blocker, you should choose the ‘Wait’ status.
When a Case is in a state of Waiting, no more new Actions for that Case will be launched until the Case moves back into a state of To Do or In Progress. Users can complete Actions that have already launched and are already running Actions, but once these Actions have been completed, no new Actions will get launched.
When placing a Case into a state of 'Wait' you need to specify the type of wait. The options are:

'Wait for more information' for a Case

Impact on SLA clock: SLA clock PAUSES while Case is in this state, IF the Case's Due Date rule (configured during process design) has 'Add Wait Time To Due Date' set to ON. If it is set to OFF, the SLA Clock CONTINUES while Case is in this state.
If you’re working on a Case and you have to temporarily halt work on it because you’re waiting for some information from a third party or client, you should choose 'Wait for more information'.
When a Case is in a state of Waiting, no more new Actions for that Case will be launched until the Case moves back into a state of To Do or In Progress. Users can complete Actions that have already launched and are already running Actions, but once these Actions have been completed, no new Actions will get launched.
When you click on 'Wait for more information', you must choose the reason for placing the Case in that state from the dropdown list.
Upon confirming the 'Wait for more information' status, the Case will move from your Work Inbox into your Owned Work list, as there is no active work to be carried out on it until a response is received.
Once a response has been received, the Case will move back from your Owned Work list into your Work Inbox in a state of To Do, highlighted for you to progress.

What shows for Due Date when SLA Clock pauses on Cases in 'Waiting for more Information'

The Remaining Hours of SLA when a Case is set to 'Waiting for more Information' will be displayed. To explain..
If a Case is set to 'Waiting for more Information' and the option to 'Add Wait Time To Due Date' is set to ON in the Case's Due Date rule (defined during process design in Builder), then the system will PAUSE the SLA clock. In conjunction with this, the Due Date value normally displayed on the Case header bar will be hidden (because until the SLA clock starts again, we can't know it!). In its place, the system will show the remaining time which was left until the Case is due at the point where it was put into this state (or how long it was overdue at the point where it was put into this state, if it has already passed the due date).
Example: If the Case is yet to pass the due date the the message will show as ‘Due: Paused x h y m before due’.
Example: If the work has passed the due date then the message will show as ‘Due: Paused x h y m after overdue’.

'Wait Until' for a Case

Impact on SLA Clock: SLA Clock CONTINUES while Case is in this state.
If you’re working on a Case and you have to temporarily halt work on it until a specific future date/time, you should choose 'Wait Until'.
When a Case is in this state, no more new Actions for that Case will be launched until the Follow Up Datetime has been reached. Users can complete Actions that have already launched and are already running Actions, but once these Actions have been completed, no new Actions will get launched.
When you click on 'Wait Until', you must specify the desired follow up date and time.
Upon confirming the 'Wait Until' status, the Case will move from your Work Inbox into your Owned Work list, as there is no active work to be carried out on it until the follow up date.
When this date is reached, the Case will move back from your Owned Work list into your Work Inbox in a state of To Do, highlighted for you to progress.

'Pause' for a Case

Impact on SLA Clock: SLA Clock CONTINUES while Case is in this state.
If you’re working on a Case and you have to temporarily halt work on it, but you are not waiting for some information from a third party or client, or waiting until a specific future date/time, you should choose 'Pause'.
When a Case is in a state of Waiting, no more new Actions for that Case will be launched until a user actively changes the status of the Case to To Do or In Progress. There is no automatic way of taking a Case out of a state of Pause, it can only be done manually. Users can complete Actions that have already launched and are already running Actions, but once these Actions have been completed, no new Actions will get launched.
Upon confirming the 'Pause' status, the Case will move from your Work Inbox into your Owned Work list, as there is no active work to be carried out on it by you until a user actively changes the status of the Case to To Do or In Progress.
When this is done, the Case will move back from your Owned Work list into your Work Inbox in a state of To Do, highlighted for you to progress.

Resolving a Case

When all the actions in a Case are completed, the system will move the Case into a state of 'Resolved' if the Case has been configured with a feedback window. It will sit in this status for a brief period during which the service recipient may respond and the Case may be reopened, either manually or automatically upon receipt of a new incoming email or feedback within the time period.
Please note that when work items are reopened, the data stored for who resolved it and when it was resolved are persisted and are not overwritten when the item is resolved for a second time.
After the feedback window has completed without any further response, or if the Case does not have a feedback window, the Case will move to a state of fully 'Closed'. Any subsequent mails received will launch a brand new work item.

Cancelling/Aborting a Case

Selecting the 'Cancel' option and hitting the button to confirm will abort the Case. It will be completely closed and will no longer be available to process. If you re-open the tab for this item, system will confirm that the Case has been aborted.