Links

Permissions

Overview

You can set user Permissions in conjunction with User Groups to control levels of access for your Service Agents to the various parts of your business operations (as represented in the Service Matrix screen - who are your customers, what services are you delivering to them).
For users to have access on work items for a customer they will need to be in at least one user group which is linked at the Customer level. In previous versions of the software this will have been represented by a setting on a customer company stating that all service provider agents had permissions on the customer. This has now been migrated across to using the User Group / Permissions approach.
Please note that all existing permissions will have remained as-is and will have been migrated across from previous access levels. For ongoing maintenance you should use User Groups / Permissions
The steps for this are as follows:
  • Create a User Group, populating it with Service Agents
  • Link the Service Group to the 'Permissions' setting at various points in the Service Matrix.
See User Groups page for creating & maintain these groups of Agents.

Setting Permissions

You can set permissions at various points in your customer business hierarchy.

Setting for specific Customer's Case or Ticket process

To set permissions for a specific customer's Case or Ticket process, go to the Service Matrix, select the Permissions link and add one or more User Groups in.
Note, any Permissions set at higher level will show read-only when accessing settings for any item in the Service Matrix.

Setting Permissions at Customer / Contract / Service Level

Setting User groups with permissions at the other levels in the business hierarchy can easily be done by navigating the to Edit screen at the relevant level.
Once that has been set, only Agents within this User Group has access to work items (creation, editing etc.) within that part of the hierarchy. For example, if you link up at the customer level, that User group has access to all work items under that customer. Conversely if you set down at the case process level, that User group has access to work items within that case process specifically within that customer/contract/service combination.

Migration of Existing Permissions

If you have upgraded from a previous version of Enate, your existing standard permissions settings will have been migrated across to ensure total continuity of what your Agents have access to. Similarly, User Groups will have been auto-generated as part of the migration, and your Service Agents populated into them, in order to ensure permissions remain consistent.