Preparations for Self Service
We will soon be releasing a brand new Self Service platform which will allow a much wider userbase to create & track their service requests into your service centres. To support enabling this upcoming Self Service option, we've made a few small changes to some of the Enate screens in Builder.
We have added a new setting to Cases to allow you to choose if you want the process to be available to Self Service users.
You can either enable the option from the Case menu on the Service Matrix screen.
You can also enable the Show in Self Service option from the Case screen itself. If the icon is highlighted in blue, the Case will be available to Self Service users; if the icon is grey, the Case will not be available to Self Service users.
The previous 'Employees' section in User Management in Builder has now been renamed 'Self Service Users'. Any previous 'Employees' will remain, they will simply be renamed as 'Self Service Users' and be accessible from the Self Service Users page.
Note that the Self Service Users page will only appear if you have a Self Service instance configured.
The Self Service Users page, accessed via the User Management section of Builder, is where you can add, edit and manage your Self Service users. Self Service users are the people who you are delivering service to and who are using Enate Self Service.
You can see a list of your existing Self Service users, and information such as their first name, last name, username, email address, company, when they last logged into Self Service, and whether or not they can view community requests i.e. if they can view all of the requests that have been submitted to their company in Self Service.
You can customise the order in which you want to view your Self Service users by clicking on each column header.
Additionally, you can choose to only show Self Service users that belong to a particular company by using the company filter option at the top of the page.
You can also use the search function at the top of the page.
To add a new self service user, go to the ‘Self Service Users’ page in Builder’s User Management section and click on the '+' icon at the top of the screen. This will bring up the ‘Add Self Service User’ pop-up where you can enter the person's details.
In the General tab you can add the following details:
The organisation this user works for.
Mandatory. Note that once the user has been added, the company they belong to can no longer be changed.
User’s username, with which they login to all Enate applications
User’s first name
User’s last name
The user’s work email address
User's preferred language
The user’s local Time zone
The working calendar for this user
Send Welcome Email
If you switch this on, the self service user will receive an automatic emails, such as a 'Welcome to Self Service' email and emails relating to the status of their submitted requests.
Can view community requests
If this option is switched on, the self service user can see community requests when they are logged into Self Service. This means that they can see requests submitted to their company.
In the Password tab you then need to set the self service user's password. Please note that passwords:
- Should not contain the username, first name or surname of the user.
- Should contain at least contain 8 characters.
- Should not contain more than 16 characters.
You can edit the details of an existing user by clicking on the menu link on the right-hand side of the contact. All attributes can be modified with the exception of the Company to which they belong.
You can also see what edits have been made to a user account and when, as well as when the user account was created, by clicking on the Show Activity button.
You can delete a Self Service user by clicking on the menu link on the right-hand side of the contact.
Note: deleting a Self Service user is a logical delete only; the user account is effectively retired. The account can be reactivated at any point.
You are able to reactivate or "undelete" retired Self Service users by activating the system-wide ‘Show deleted items’ button. This will show you your retired users which will be greyed out in your grid. Clicking on the menu option of a retired user will shows you an option that allows you to reactivate that user account and set them as an active user.
You can reset the password of a Self Service user by clicking on the menu link on the right-hand side of the contact and selecting 'Change password'. You can then give them a new password as per password policy.